Confessions of a Book Cover Snob–The Giver by Lois Lowry

Okay, I have a dirty little secret. Even though I love books and read voraciously, I am sometimes guilty of being a book cover snob. I’m a big fan of dystopian fiction. I had read The Hunger Games trilogy and loved it. I have read Divergent and Matched and loved them. I’ve even read the entire Shadow Children series…yep loved them too. So why did I hesitate for 2 years to read The Giver by Lois Lowry, an author whom I’ve enjoyed in the past??

Well–the cover. Yes, I said it. The cover looked boring! I know, I know. I’ve thought that before and have always enjoyed the book. So why do I continue to judge based on the cover? (I tried to insert a picture of the cover here but it wouldn’t let me…I HATE dislike that very much.) 

I guess I am just a visual person. But let me tell you how wrong I was. The book was very good! I am really into dystopian fiction now and am fascinated with societies that appear similar but are dangerously different than ours. I had this feeling of dread the whole time I read the book, even though the author wrote it in a very bland and normal way. I know she did this to scare us and make us uneasy and it worked!

I don’t want to go too much into the plot because I think this is a book best enjoyed if you go into it cold, or like with me, thinking you won’t like it. I love it when an author changes my mind! Just a bit of advice for the publishers…change the cover and I bet you will have a whole new generation of students clamoring to read it, instead of passing it by in the library like I did.

Leave a Reply

