Reading Goals for 2012

Well…it’s that time of year to think about what my reading goals are for this year. I usually don’t make specific goals, but have been inspired by many blogs in the past few days to do this. I’ve recently been reading a book (surprise) that says the more specific your goal, the better chance you have of achieving it. So here is my attempt:

1. Meet my goodreads goal of 100 books. (I may have set this too low/high…I’ve never counted my books before)

2. Read more history for middle grades. (I have a few history crazy boys this year and I want to find as many good books as I can for them)

3. Read at least two classics. (I read Anna Karenina last year and it took almost 2 months)

4. Try to balance books just for me and books for my students. (I tend to spend most of the year reading kids’ books and neglecting my personal TBR  pile)

5. Participate in at least one reading challenge from a blog…not sure which one yet. I will research some more on that. I’ll take any suggestions 🙂

This list may grow as I continue thinking about the new year ahead, but at least I have a running start! Take some time to think about your reading goals.

Happy New Year!!!

One Response

  1. I always try to read a least one classic a year. In 2011 I read The Great Gatsby (which I read 20 years ago in college) and Pride and Prejudice (which doesn’t really count, as I have read it 5 times!) Not sure what classic I will read for 2012. Maybe something by William Faulkner…

Leave a Reply

