• Pages

  • ="Member of the Nerdy Book Club"
  • KidLitFrenzy
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Read the Printed Word!
  • my read shelf:
    Christy Briggs's book recommendations, liked quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists (read shelf)
  • 2012 Reading Challenge

    2012 Reading Challenge
    Christy has read 2 books toward her goal of 100 books.
    hide

The Power of Books

While reading the latest issue of Entertainment Weekly, my husband asked me if I knew what the most anticipated movie of 2012 was. Of course I replied, “The Hunger Games,” and was correct. The surprising part was that The Hunger Games beat out the new Batman movie as the most anticipated. “That just shows you the power of books,” my husband replied.  Wow…that statement just resonated with me! While I’m sure that there will be some who watch the movie having never read the book, I suspect millions more will go eagerly waiting to see if Katniss is as tough and heartbreaking as she was in the book. I, for one, want to see the Capital. Do the images in my mind match with what will be on the screen? Who knows? One thing is for sure–the movie will not be as good as the book. They never are. (Did anyone see The City of Ember???) No movie can take you into a character or a world the way a book can. Each person who read The Hunger Games put their own unique spin on the characters and events in their minds. Think about the climax of the story…now ask your friends how they envisioned it. I bet no two are the same. That’s the power of books! Regardless of who reads them, each book is personalized to each reader. I’m not going to get into Transactional Theories of reading here…but it’s true. Each book provides a different experience for each reader who turns the pages. How cool is that??

On a final note, if you have NOT read The Hunger Games yet…you still have time!! The movie doesn’t come out until March. I highly suggest you move this book to the top of your to be read pile immediately! You won’t regret it (or the lack of sleep from staying up late to read).

 

 

2 Responses

  1. HA!!! I knew that before I even clicked on your blog!!! I can’t wait until March!!!

  2. Such a great series! I agree, I can’t wait to see if the images in my mind match the movie!

Leave a Reply

