• Pages

  • ="Member of the Nerdy Book Club"
  • KidLitFrenzy
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Read the Printed Word!
  • my read shelf:
    Christy Briggs's book recommendations, liked quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists (read shelf)
  • 2012 Reading Challenge

    2012 Reading Challenge
    Christy has read 2 books toward her goal of 100 books.
    hide

Inspirations

I love reading the blogs of other literacy lovers. One such person is Donalyn Miller at The Book Whisperer. (Thanks Shannon at Extreme Reading and Writing for teaching me how to do this!) I’ve read Donalyn’s book, The Book Whisperer and loved it. Then I found her blog and loved that as well. Then, unbelievably, I met her at the State of Maryland International Reading Association Conference (SOMIRAC) last year. She was so down to earth and immediately started a conversation with me. She truly seemed to enjoy talking to “fans” and loved talking about books. Her session was awesome too! I don’t know why I thought she would be any different…She still inspires me to be a better reading teacher each day. This is why I’ve chosen Donalyn Miller as my first Inspiration  Post.  Maybe somewhere along the time continuum, she’ll read this post and add it to the thousands of others she’s seen naming her as an inspiration. Thanks Donalyn!!

Leave a Reply

